Patterns

Spring, oh spring

Umbrella curves

Spring hasn’t come yet where I am, but she’s trying.    This umbrella gal is so sweet.  The design is after an illustration by Jessie Willcox Smith for a magazine cover in 1922.  I meant it just for fun to play with the lines.  I love the curves and can really feel the wind and rain.     Hope you are all looking forward to the change of season where ever you are.

Click to order the simple line drawing pattern, one page drawing, and 9 pages to make a 19″ x 24″ project  —Peggy

8 thoughts on “Spring, oh spring

    • I was actually just playing with curves on yesterday’s posting of the umbrella girl. If you’d like a pattern I’d be happy to post it if you’d suggest a size that would work for you. Will you use standard applique techniques? Or will you piece the curves using freezer paper and your machine? Maybe I should do a tutorial on machine piecing curves… Hmmm.

      Just let me know how you would like the pattern…. The simplest for me is to post a full sized line drawing and let people cut it apart and color it as they wish. The most extensive pattern would include separate pieces with 1/4″ seams, and tick marks for aligning the assemblies, and a color chart with a limited palette. The line drawing I can post quickly, the others take time.

  1. I made it! I made Umbrella for one very very nice girl. The beginnings were difficult, but now I know how to do it and sew certainly one more :)Cordial greetings from Poland.

Leave a Reply

